

Charles L.A. Terreni Chief Clerk/Administrator Phone: (803) 896-5133 Fax: (803) 896-5246 The Public Service Commission State of South Carolina COMMISSIONERS Elizabeth B. "Lib" Fleming, Fourth District *Chairman* John E. "Butch" Howard, First District *Vice Chairman* David A. Wright, Second District Randy Mitchell, Third District G. O'Neal Hamilton, Fifth District *vacant*, Sixth District Swain E. Whitfield, At-Large

> Administrative Department Phone: (803) 896-5100 Fax: (803) 896-5246

*** FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE ***

December 4, 2009

Commissioner Howard to Chair NARUC Committee on Water and Serve on NARUC Board of Directors

Commissioner John E. "Butch" Howard has been appointed chairman of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC) Committee on Water by NARUC President David Coen. As chairman of the committee, Commissioner Howard will also serve on the NARUC Board of Directors.

The Committee on Water seeks to increase awareness and understanding about the issues surrounding the uses and reuses of water and wastewater and works closely with several agency and stakeholder groups, including the Environmental Protection Agency, the National Association of Water Companies, and the Association of State Drinking Water Administrators.

Commissioner Howard said of his appointment, "As the current co-vice chairman of the committee, I am honored to be assuming the chairmanship, and I look forward to continuing my work on this committee." Commissioner Howard succeeds Commissioner David King of New Mexico as the chair.

Commissioner Howard has been a member of the Public Service Commission since 2004, and represents the 1st District. He currently serves as the Public Service Commission's vice chairman.

NARUC is a non-profit organization founded in 1889 to represent the interests of state public utility commissions before the three branches of the federal government.

####