

Jocelyn G. Boyd Chief Clerk/Administrator

Phone: (803) 896-5133

Fax: (803) 896-5246

The Public Service Commission State of South Carolina

COMMISSIONERS David A. Wright, Second District *Chairman* Randy Mitchell, Third District *Vice Chairman* John E. "Butch" Howard, First District Elizabeth B. "Lib" Fleming, Fourth District G. O'Neal Hamilton, Fifth District Nikiya "Nikki" Hall, Sixth District Swain E. Whitfield, At-Large

> Administrative Department Phone: (803) 896-5100 Fax: (803) 896-5246

**** FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE ****

February 22, 2013

Commissioner Hall Appointed as Co-Chair of NARUC's Washington Action Program

South Carolina Public Service Commissioner Nikiya "Nikki" Hall has been appointed as a Co-Chair of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners' (NARUC) Washington Action Program. Commissioner Hall was appointed to the position by NARUC President Philip Jones of Washington, who also appointed Larry Landis of the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission as her Co-Chair.

NARUC is a national organization that represents the nation's State utility regulatory commissions, including the Public Service Commission of South Carolina. The Washington Action Program serves as NARUC's heartbeat on the happenings in and throughout Washington. The Committee provides a framework for improving the credibility, visibility, and effectiveness of NARUC in Congress, the Executive Branch, the media, and other stakeholder organizations.

Commissioner Hall said of her appointment, "I am humbled by President Jones' confidence in appointing me to cochair this important program. I am also excited to work with Commissioner Landis and my State regulatory colleagues from across the country. Washington is focused on utility issues and through this position, I can help articulate the needs of South Carolina ratepayers on a national scale."

Commissioner Hall was elected to the Public Service Commission of South Carolina in June 2010, representing the 6th Congressional District and is an active member of NARUC, where she is vice chair of the Subcommittee on Utility Market Access and a member of the Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment.

###