

## The Public Service Commission State of South Carolina

COMMISSIONERS
John E. "Butch" Howard, First District
Chairman
David A. Wright, Second District
Vice Chairman
Randy Mitchell, Third District
Elizabeth B. "Lib" Fleming, Fourth District
G. O'Neal Hamilton, Fifth District
Nikiya "Nikki" Hall, Sixth District
Swain E. Whitfield, At-Large

Jocelyn G. Boyd Chief Clerk/Administrator Phone: (803) 896-5133 Fax: (803) 896-5246

Administrative Department Phone: (803) 896-5100 Fax: (803) 896-5246

\*\*\*\*\* FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE \*\*\*\*\*

May 29, 2012

## **Commissioner Fleming Appointed to NRRI Board of Directors**

South Carolina Public Service Commissioner Elizabeth "Lib" Fleming has been appointed to the Board of Directors of the National Regulatory Research Institute (NRRI). The announcement was made by fellow South Carolina Commissioner David Wright, President of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC).

Founded in 1976 by NARUC, NRRI serves state utility regulators through its efforts in identifying regulatory challenges, both current and future, and creating and disseminating cutting-edge research that will assist regulators with their public interest decision-making. State commissioners constitute the majority of the nine-member board. Commissioner Fleming's appointment begins July 1, 2012, and runs through December 31, 2014.

Commissioner Fleming said of her appointment, "What an honor and pleasure it is to be asked to serve on the NRRI Board. The work of this institute is so important in providing effective public service research information for public service commissioners and their staffs. I look forward to my work with this group."

Commissioner Fleming has been a member of the Public Service Commission of South Carolina since 2004, representing the 4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District and is an active member of NARUC, where she is the past chairman of the Committee on Critical Infrastructure and a member of the Committee on Electricity. She is also the past chairman of the Public Service Commission and resides in Spartanburg, SC.

###