

The Public Service Commission State of South Carolina

COMMISSIONERS
Justin T. Williams, Sixth District
Chairman
Florence P. Belser, Second District
Vice Chair
Carolyn "Carolee" Williams, First District
Stephen "Mike" Caston, Third District
Thomas J. "Tom" Ervin, Fourth District
Headen B. Thomas, Fifth District
Delton W. Powers, Jr., Seventh District

Jocelyn Boyd Chief Clerk/Executive Director Phone: (803) 896-5100 Fax: (803) 896-5246

Phone: (803) 896-5100 Fax: (803) 896-5246

FOUR NEW PSC COMMISSIONERS ELECTED

On Wednesday, September 23rd, the General Assembly elected four new Commissioners to the Public Service Commission, replacing four outgoing Commissioners. Carolyn "Carolee" Williams will serve as Commissioner for District 1, Stephen "Mike" Caston for District 3, Headen B. Thomas for District 5, and Delton W. Powers, Jr. for District 7. The terms of the current Commissioners end, per SC Code Ann. Section 58-3-20, when "their successors are elected and qualified;" new Commissioners, having been elected, were sworn in by Secretary of State Mark Hammond on September 24th and will now commence their terms.

The Public Service Commission oversees South Carolina's investor-owned public utilities and regulates the rates of electric, gas, water, wastewater and transportation companies and ensures that utility ratepayers receive dependable and safe services. The agency looks forward to these four new Commissioners using their wealth of expertise and industry knowledge to help enact the PSC's mission. The PSC would also like to thank the outgoing Commissioners—Comer "Randy" Randall, John "Butch" Howard, Swain Whitfield, and G. O'Neal Hamilton—for their years of service to the Commission and to the public of South Carolina.

For more information, please contact the Commission at 803.896.5142 or email contact@psc.sc.gov. The Commission can also be followed on Facebook and Twitter, where more information will be shared.

#######