Commissioner Mignon L. Clyburn | Public Service Commission Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Commissioner Mignon L. Clyburn




Charleston, S.C.

Sixth District: All of Bamberg, Clarendon, Florence, Marion and Williamsburg. Parts of Beaufort, Berkeley, Calhoun, Charleston, Colleton, Darlington, Dorchester, Lee, Orangeburg, Richland and Sumter.

Term: 1998-2009

Appointed to Federal Communications Commission August 2009.



  • South Carolina Executive Institute - 2000
  • University of South Carolina: B.S. Banking, Finance and Economics - 1984
  • W. J. Keenan High School - 1980

Professional Experience:

  • Public Service Commission Chair, July 2002 - June 2004
  • Elected to the Public Service Commission of South Carolina, July 1, 1998.
  • Publisher, general manager, newspaper editor of The Coastal Times in Charleston, SC. - 1984-1998

Professional organizations:

  • South Carolina Association of Black Journalists
  • Black Women Entrepreneurs - Past President
  • Charleston County Democratic Women - Past President
  • Utilities Market Access Partnership Board
  • The SC State Energy Advisory Council
  • Southeastern Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (SEARUC) - Past Chair
  • National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC)
    - Present Chair of NARUC’s Washington Action Committee, Audit Committee member

Civic Involvement:

  • The Palmetto Project Board, secretary/treasurer
  • Trident Technical College Foundation
  • South Carolina Cancer Center Board
  • Columbia College Board of Visitors
  • The YWCA of Greater Charleston - Past Chair
  • Reid House of Christian Service
  • Edventure Children’s Museum
  • Trident Urban League
  • Trident United Way
  • Life Member of the NAACP
  • The Links, Inc.
  • SC Advisory Council of the US Commission on Civil Rights
  • SC Education Oversight Committee’s Common Ground School Improvement Committee

Awards & Honors:

  • 2006 James C. Bonbright Honoree, (Southeastern Energy Conference, Terry School of Business, University of Georgia).
  • 2007 Lincoln C. Jenkins Award for business and community contributions, Columbia (SC) Urban League.