Swain E. Whitfield | Public Service Commission Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

Swain E. Whitfield

Commissioner Swain WhitfieldWinnsboro, S.C.


Fifth District: All of Cherokee, York, Union, Chester, Lancaster, Fairfield, Kershaw, Lee, and parts of Spartanburg, Newberry, and Sumter

Assumed Commissionership July 1, 2008

Term ended June 30, 2020.




Attended Erskine College as a freshman 1981-82
University of Georgia – BA degree in Industrial Geography, 1986

  • Walk-on UGA football squad 1984-85
  • Phi Kappa Tau Fraternity

Regulatory Schools

  • NARUC Utility Rate School
  • Regulatory Studies Program Level I & II, Institute of Public Utilities - Michigan State University
  • Electric Grid School - Michigan State University
  • Continuing Regulatory Education (Tier I - 240 hours)
  • National Judicial College - Ethics, Due Process, Settlements

Professional Experience:

22 year veteran of the Transportation Industry. 16 of those years as Founder and Owner of Whitfield Transportation, Inc., a transportation brokerage and trucking firm. Sold Whitfield Transportation, Inc. in July 2008 to devote full time service on the Public Service Commission of South Carolina.

Professional associations:

  • SC Trucking Association (membership task force)
  • SC State Ports Authority - Transportation Advisory Committee (1991-1995)
  • SC Forestry Association
  • Southeastern Lumber Manufacturers Association (SLMA)
  • Greater Columbia Traffic and Transportation Association – past President (1995)
  • SC State Chamber of Commerce

American Traffic Exchange (AMTEX)
Licensed SC Real Estate agent.

Government Experience:

Councilman, Town of Winnsboro, SC 1995-1999

  • Utilities over 80% of Municipal budget
  • SC Institute of Government for Municipal Elected Officials
  • SC Economic Developers’ School

SC Association of Municipal Power Systems (SCAMPS)

Fairfield County Substance Abuse Board 1994-1997

Midlands Workforce Development Board 2000-2006

John de la Howe School Board of Trustees 2006-2008 (resigned from State Board to serve on the Public Service Commission of South Carolina)

Elected to Public Service Commission of South Carolina, May 21, 2008.

Chairman of the Public Service Commission, July 1, 2016 - June 30, 2018

President of SEARUC (Southeastern Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners), 2017 - 2018

Member of NARUC (National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners)

  • Member, NARUC Committee on Gas
  • Vice Chairman, NARUC Committee on Critical Infrastructure
  • Member, NARUC Washington Action Committee
  • Member, NARUC Subcommittee on Nuclear Issues-Waste Disposal
  • Served on original NARUC Pipeline Safety Task Force
  • Member, NARUC - US DOE Natural Gas Infrastructure Modernization Partnership

Gas Technology Institute Advisory Board, Chairman - 2016 - 2018

Other Civic Involvement:

Blackstock Young Farmers (President 2011-2013)
South Carolina Economic Developers Association (SCEDA)
Fairfield County Chamber of Commerce
Association of American Geographers
Blythewood Rotary Club (Paul Harris Fellow)


Born in Columbia, SC, native of Winnsboro, SC
Wife – the former Amy Mills of White Oak, SC
Three children
Former lifelong member and Deacon, Sion Presbyterian Church, Winnsboro, SC
Elder, Centennial Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church
Enjoys spending time with family, boating, fishing and hunting.